Quick Links 


Parks Leadership

The Riverside County Regional Park and Open-Space District, or RivCoParks for short, is part of the family of Riverside County agencies serving the public in this region and is designated as a Special District for the County. RivCoParks leadership and oversight is provided by the Riverside County Board of Supervisors (Directors) and several public commissions.

RivCoParks service a diverse population of 2.4 million residents of Riverside County, California's fourth largest county by population and size (7,200 square miles).  Residents and tourists from outside the county also comprise the populations served.

Riverside County

Board of Supervisors

RivCoParks Leadership


RivCoParks Board of Directors

You may contact a supervisor by visiting their home web pages.

(Click on the supervisor name or image to visit their web page.)

Supervisor Kevin Jeffries 
First District

Kevin Jeffries was elected in November 2012 to represent the residents of the 1st Supervisorial District on the Riverside County Board of Supervisors. He was re-elected in 2016 and 2020. This district covers the cities of Riverside, Lake Elsinore, Canyon Lake, and Wildomar, and unincorporated communities including Woodcrest, Lake Mathews, Mead Valley, Temescal Valley, Good Hope, Lakeland Village, El Cariso, Meadowbrook, La Cresta, and DeLuz.

Supervisor Karen Speigel - Vice-Chair  
Second District

Karen Spiegel was elected to represent the Second Supervisorial District on November 6, 2018.  This district includes the unincorporated communities of Coronita, El Cerrito, Home Gardens and Highgrove, and the cities of Corona, Eastvale, Jurupa Valley, Norco, and the western half of the City of Riverside.

Supervisor Chuck Washington  - Chair  
Third District

Chuck Washington was appointed by Gov. Jerry Brown on March 4, 2015 to the Riverside County Board of Supervisors, representing the Third Supervisorial District. He was elected to serve again in 2016 and 2020.  Chuck has been an elected public servant since 1995 serving in several capacities, including, Mayor and City Council-member for both cities of Murrieta and Temecula, serving twice as Mayor of Temecula. His elected public service extends to many other organization’s Board of Directors such as: Temecula Community Services District, California Association of Councils of Governments, Western Riverside Council of Governments, Riverside County Airport Land Use Commission, Temecula Chamber of Commerce, Boys and Girls Club, Habitat for Humanity of Inland Valleys, Temecula Economic Development Corporation, and Inland Affiliate of the Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation. Mr. Washington is the recipient of many distinguished recognitions such as: Families First Award from the LDS Church, American Planners Association Leadership Award, Citizen of the Year of both cities of Temecula and Murrieta, Kiwanis Citizen of the Year, PTA Honorary Service Award, and Toastmasters International Communication and Leadership Award.

A Manual Perez.jpeg

Victor Manuel Perez was appointed by Gov. Edmund G. Brown Jr. on May 9, 2017 to the Riverside County Board of Supervisors, replacing the late John J. Benoit in representing the County’s Fourth District. The Fourth Supervisorial District covers the eastern two-thirds of Riverside County, stretching from Palm Springs and Desert Hot Springs, south to the Salton Sea and east to Blythe and the Colorado River.

Supervisor Jeff Hewitt
Fifth District

Supervisor Jeff Hewitt was elected to the Riverside County of Board of Supervisors in November 2018.  District 5 encompasses the southwest area of the County in the unincorporated area surrounding the northern end of the city of Lake Elsinore then moves east and north through Perris and Moreno Valley to Highgrove, then east through the Badlands to the Pass Area of Calimesa, Banning and Beaumont, and then east to Desert Hot Springs and Northern Palm Springs.

RivCoParks Executive Team


If you would like to contact one of our executives, click here.

Kyla Brown, CPRE
General Manager/Parks Director
Kyla Brown - 2018 Head Shot_edited.jpg

Kyla Brown is a Certified Park and Recreation Executive and serves as General Manager/Parks Director of the Riverside County Regional Park and Open-Space District (RivCoParks). She has been working in public service for over 25 years, joining the RivCoParks team in 2010. As a Credentialed California County Senior Executive, Kyla has a wide range of experience in land management, planning, park operations, campground management, facility operations, special events, recreation programming, public communications, and customer service. Kyla is an active member of the California Park and Recreation Society (CPRS) having served on the state board of directors (2017-2019) and as a Maintenance Management School Regent (20012-2018). Additional memberships include the National Recreation & Park Association (NRPA), California Special Districts Association (CSDA), National Association of County Park and Recreation Officials (NACPRO) and the Park Rangers Association of California.

Kyla completed the Environmental Leadership Academy (California State University San Marcos at Temecula), has her Bachelor of Arts in Human Services (California State University, San Bernardino) and is a Master of Public Administration (California Baptist University). Kyla is a camping enthusiast and enjoys spending time outdoors with her family. 

Erin Gettis
Assistant Parks Director
Girkephoto#3E-2 - Cropped.jpg

Recently appointed as the Assistant Director for Riverside County’s vast parks program, Erin previously served as the Bureau Chief for Planning and Development.  For over 28 years Erin Gettis has been in the Planning and Architecture field, with the last 18 in a leadership capacity at three different agencies.  Erin has worked for architectural firms in Seattle, Madison, and San Diego, including restoration of two state capitols.


Erin currently serves as an Ex-Officio member for the California State Citrus Park Foundation Board, previously served on the Board of Directors for DOCOMOMO Southern California Chapter and National Alliance for Preservation Commissions, and has co-taught the Historic Preservation Practicum at University of California - Riverside.  Erin hails from the Pacific Northwest, and is an avid hiker and camper, often camping with her family and rescue dogs in favorite spots near the water either in the mountains or at the beach.

Dustin McLain
Bureau Chief - Parks and Resources
Dustin head shot 2019_edited.jpg

Dustin McLain is a fish and wildlife biologist whose main species of interest includes the California red-legged frog, pacific pond turtle, coho salmon and steelhead trout of the California coast range. Dustin has over 20 years of biological experience in the California coast range, Sierra Nevada mountain range and southern California bio-region, which has entailed both private and public sector service. As Chief of Parks & Resources, Dustin oversees the duties of 7 Regional Parks, Open-Space/Land Management, Nature Center and Historic Museum operations.

Dustin possesses a B.S. in Biology (San Jose State University) and is a member of The Wildlife Society, American Fisheries Society, California Deer Association and Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation. Dustin’s personal interest include backpacking, fishing, hunting and anything else involving the outdoors.